Scribble Maps Help Center
Change language

Change a user’s role for permissions - (Manage Users feature)

Note: To use the Manage Users feature, you must be an Admin for the map. Learn about role-based permissions by visiting this link:
Intro to the Manage Users feature - Collaborate on a single map

Open the "Manage Users" window

  1. Login to your Scribble Maps account at:
    https://www.scribblemaps.com/create 
    (Optional) To learn how to log in, visit this link: 
    How to login/register
     
  2. Open the map.
    These are the possible methods:

    Load a map from the Your Maps window

    Load a map by using the Map ID - "Menu > Load Import"

    Upload an offline map file - "Menu > Load From Computer"

     
  3. Click the "MENU" button in the top toolbar.
     
  4. Under the "Scribble Maps" heading, click the "Save Map" button.
    The "Save Map" window will appear.
     
  5. Click the button: "Manage Users".
    The "MANAGE USERS" window will appear.

Change the user's role

  1. In the "MANAGE USERS" window, you will see the list of users and their roles.
     
  2. Find the user's row in the list.
    Note: For the permissions to work, each user must use their specified email address to login to their account. 
     
  3. Click on the user's current role on the drop-down list. Then select the new role:
    Admin
    • An Admin can edit the map and manage users.
    • The map creator is automatically considered an Admin.
    Editor
    • An Editor can edit the map, but cannot manage users.
    Viewer
    • A Viewer can view the map, even if it's saved as "Secure". 
    • If a "Public" or "Unlisted" map is password protected, a Viewer can edit the map if he or she provides the password.
    • If the map is saved as "Encrypted", a Viewer doesn't have to provide the initial password to view the map. A Viewer only has to provide the encryption password.
     
     
     
    Note: For the user to save a map as "Unlisted", "Secure", or "Encrypted", the user must have a Pro account. See: Save a map > Select the option for how users can access the map
     
  4. You will see the user's new role displayed in the window.
     
  5. Click the checkbox displaying the message: "I’m not a robot". 
     
  6. (Optional) If prompted, perform the reCAPTCHA procedure. 
     
  7. Click the button: "Save Users".
     
  8. Click the button: "Back to Map Save".
     
  9. (Optional) Save the map.
    Note: After you click "Save Users" (Step #7), the permission changes are automatically saved to the map file. So you don't need to save the map. To learn how to save maps, visit this link: Save a map
 

(Optional) If two owners/admins give a user conflicting roles

Case #1:
If two owners/admins give a user conflicting roles in the Manage Users feature OR the Team web app:

The user obtains the permissions of the role change that’s most recent.
 

Case #2:
If two owners/admins give a user conflicting roles in the Manage Users feature AND the Team web app:

The user obtains the permissions of whichever role has more privileges.
 
 

See also

Remove a user’s permission to access a map - (Manage Users feature)

 
 

Last updated