Note: To use the Manage Users feature, you must be an Admin for the map. Learn about role-based permissions by visiting this link:
Intro to the Manage Users feature - Collaborate on a single map
Open the "Manage Users" window
- Login to your Scribble Maps account at:
https://www.scribblemaps.com/create(Optional) To learn how to login, visit this link:
How to login / register
- Open the map.
These are the possible methods:
- Click the "MENU" button in the top toolbar.
- Under the "Scribble Maps" heading, click the "Save Map" button.
The "Save Map" window will appear.
- Click the button: "Manage Users".
The "MANAGE USERS" window will appear.
Change the user's role
- In the "MANAGE USERS" window, you will see the list of users and their roles.
- Find the user's row in the list.
Note: For the permissions to work, each user must use their specified email address to login to their account.
- Click on the user's current role on the drop-down list. Then select the new role:
- An Admin can edit the map and manage users.
- The map creator is automatically considered an Admin.
- An Editor can edit the map, but cannot manage users.
- A Viewer can view the map, even if it's saved as "Secure".
- If a "Public" or "Unlisted" map is password protected, a Viewer can edit the map if he or she provides the password.
- If the map is saved as "Encrypted", a Viewer doesn't have to provide the initial password to view the map. A Viewer only has to provide the encryption password.
Note: For the user to save a map as "Unlisted", "Secure", or "Encrypted", the user must have a Pro account. See: Save a map > Select the option for how users can access the map
- You will see the user's new role displayed in the window.
- Click the checkbox displaying the message: "I’m not a robot".
- (Optional) If prompted, perform the reCAPTCHA procedure.
- Click the button: "Save Users".
- Click the button: "Back to Map Save".
- (Optional) Save the map.
Note: After you click "Save Users" (Step #7), the permission changes are automatically saved to the map file. So you don't need to save the map. To learn how to save maps, visit this link: Save a map
(Optional) If two owners/admins give a user conflicting roles
If two owners/admins give a user conflicting roles in the Manage Users feature OR the Team web app:The user obtains the permissions of the role change that’s most recent.
If two owners/admins give a user conflicting roles in the Manage Users feature AND the Team web app:The user obtains the permissions of whichever role has more privileges.